Bib for Baby

So I’ve come to realize this past year that not all bibs are created equal. Some are too tiny, some are too easy for Baby to remove, and some don’t absorb a thing! So I decided to use one of my favorite bibs as a template to make my first attempt at a bib. I first traced the bib onto a piece of cardboard so I could save the template for future bibs if I want. Then I cut out the template and traced it onto the backside of 2 different patterns of fabric. I cut out the fabric, leaving about 1/2″ extra fabric around the edges. I pinned the fabric pattern sides facing each other and sewed the bib all the way around, leaving about 1/2″ on one side to turn the bib right side out. Once the bib was right side outside I ironed it down to help with the final stitching. I used zig-zag stitching about 1/4″ from the edge all the way around to finish the bib (this also makes it so you don’t have to sew the hole you left to reverse the bib). My bobbin ran out midway during this final step and in replacing it I accidentally changed the settings so I ended up with 2 different stitch widths on mine. Luckily, I did not use the truck fabric (which I LOVE) that I bought to make one for my son because I did not want to waste it in case my first attempt had some glitches. So this bib is for a little girl:

All I have left to do is add some velcro or a snap fastener and it will be done 🙂

2 thoughts on “Bib for Baby

  1. Hi there! Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

    I don’t have any kids of my own, but I’ve started making baby things, too. It seems like every time I turn around another friend or co-worker is pregnant, so I’ve gotten pretty good at sewing receiving blankets.

Leave a Reply

