Bookmarks – Types 2 & 3

I love to read and I’ve recently met a new friend who loves reading as well. She just lent me Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen. I’ve only read the first chapter, but it’s keeping my attention so far. I decided that I would start making a collection of bookmarks to give my friend for her birthday. Her birthday isn’t until October, but I figure I can come up with a pretty decent collection by then and also make some for myself.

I’ve been trying really hard to repurpose and reuse things we already have here at home. So when I saw these bookmarks at How About Orange using everything I already have at home I decided to make some myself.

Type 2 – Paint Chip Bookmarks

1. Paste 2 colors (can be the same or different) back to back using rubber cement or Mod Podge.

2. Trim edges if not lined up exactly or to get rounded edges if you’d like.

3. Punch a hole at the top.

4. Attach string, ribbon, or yarn to your bookmark.

Front

Back

Type 3 – Fabric Bookmark on Card Stock

1. Cut a piece of card stock or cardboard from a cereal, tissue, or other box to the size you want. I am still using left over pieces of card stock from my son’s dump truck birthday invitations.

2. Cut a piece of fabric that is large enough to cover front and back with about 1/4″-1/2″ excess.

3. Add rubber cement or Mod Podge to one side of the card stock or cardboard and cover with fabric. Repeat on the other side, folding fabric over around the front to the back of the bookmark.

4. Trim the excess fabric. If you are using light fabric like mine you can just follow the card stock or cardboard to trim the fabric. If your fabric is darker, you may want to use a pencil and ruler to mark the edges, then cut off the excess fabric.

5. Punch a hole towards the top. This may fray the fabric slightly, but the ribbon will cover it up.

6. Add string, ribbon, or yarn to finish your bookmark.

Front

Back

Leave a Reply

