Food, Food, Food!

I haven’t been completely idle since being pregnant, although I have been slacking on my posts. We’ve been experimenting with a bunch of different recipes, trying to find meals our family (mostly my husband who is a very picky eater) will love. Here is a rundown of some of the successes and some of the flops:

1. BBQ Shredded Pork – I didn’t use any set recipe for this one. I just kind of seasoned a bone-in butt roast with some salt and pepper and tossed it in the crock pot on low until the meat fell off the bone (about 6 hrs for the size I used). When it was ready I pulled the meat from the bone and tried to separate all the excess fat. I tossed the meat back into the crock pot with some bbq sauce for about 20 minutes and that’s it! We made sandwiches on garlic break with our pork and they were delicious!

Image

2. Crock Pot Baked Potato Soup – I used this recipe from Mama Loves Food. I halved the recipe and it was enough for about 4 I’d say. It was easy and delicious!

Image

3. Shredded Chicken Tacos – Boneless chicken, taco seasoning, half a jar of salsa and cook on low in a crock pot. Shred the meat and add to your tacos!

4. Buffalo Popcorn Chicken Bites – I used this recipe. I added more hot sauce than the recipe called for and still could not really taste it through the batter. They were still good, but it was more like pancake chicken bites. They tasted like something you might find at a fair. My son LOVED them! My husband did not 😦

5. Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup – Seasoned boneless, skinless chicken breast with olive oil, salt and pepper and baked at 350 degrees for about 35 minutes. Brought unsalted chicken broth, potatoes, carrots, and onions to a boil. Added some egg noodles and boiled until cooked, then reduced to a simmer. Cut the chicken into bite size pieces and added to the simmering soup for a few minutes. Yum! Yum!

Leave a Reply

