DIY Word Art Sign

I first saw this word art sign from Barn Owl Primitives featured in a giveaway on a blog I stumbled upon and have been eyeing it for quite some time now. Then I started seeing it all over pinterest and had to have it. Unfortunately, we’re trying to save up for the baby and hopefully for a move sometime in the near future so I decided to resort to a DIY version. Since I have an overabundance of wrapped canvas thanks to a fantastic sale and lucky clearance find I decided to go with a canvas version.

I still wanted it to have a wood-like feel so I painted the canvas with a creamy color to match our bathroom decor and lightly streaked it with brown. I’m not sure if it comes across with the wood effect that I was going for, but I liked the way it turned out nonetheless.

I was definitely too impatient to use any sort of method for the letters so I freehanded them.

Not quite the wood version I have been drooling over, but I think it will look just wonderful in our guest bath!

Leave a Reply

